BLOGGING FOR JUSTICE OVER A YEAR’S WORTH OF SEEKING

This is U2Cando Blog #52. So I’ve reached my goal of blogging every week for a year. To my early followers, thanks for your loyalty. To my latest followers, I will return. But I’m cutting back to a monthly commitment to share my future perspectives.

I do want to acknowledge Jan Wilberg, who inspired me last summer with her award-winning daily blogging. What happens on her Red’s Wrap she admits is all over the map. Jan writes about what seems important or interesting at the moment.

That’s what I’ve been striving to do this past year. I wrote about folks from my past, new encounters, and threw in some political harangue. I didn’t know when I posted my first blog that I would also start a weekly U2Cando playlist of song lyrics. When Bono & U2 came up on my son’s playlist while riding in his car with Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, it seemed to be timely for the vocational search I was on still seeking justice.

So as I go on vacation and hiatus, my Top 10 list [with direct links embedded in each title] clearly needs to start with that first blog last August: DOES ANYONE HAVE BONO’S CELL NUMBER?

Gale Cincotta Reclaims America October 13, 1980

Gale Cincotta
Reclaims America
October 13, 1980

Last week, I tweaked the lyrics to a Steve Earle song to mention my mentor Gale Cincotta and embedded a link to my seventh blog, RECLAIMING AMERICA, on her posted last Columbus Day weekend. One of my followers Michael Westgate (author of Gale Force, an oral history on Gale) reminded me that August 15th was the anniversary of her death in 2001. I didn’t remember that as I wrote my most recent blog on August 15th; but I sure felt Gale’s spirit in the composing.

Remembering Gale last October, led to other memories from my days as editor of DISCLOSURE that I recalled in blog #8, FROM THE ROOTS, about other leaders who fought for their community. With a nod to Van Morrison, it’s always proper to “lift your glass and raise it high to the beauty of the days gone by.”

Romero Mural in Ciudad Romero

Romero Mural in Ciudad Romero

This past year saw the Vatican take the next step to finally canonize Oscar Romero as a martyred saint. My 14th blog last November, STILL RESILIENT IN EL SALVADOR, shared reflections from a 2012 community empowerment tour on which my wife and I witnessed the strength of perseverance.

The big news of the year for me was half-way through my blogging year when I announced in blog #26, OUT TO BUILD A BETTER FUTURE, that I had accepted the position as CEO of the Institute of Cultural Affairs (ICA)-USA. This blog introduced the only lyrics I used twice from Sing for the Climate. If you have never seen the video, do yourself and the world a favor and check it out. On September 22 and 23, 2012, more than 80,000 people in more than 180 Belgian communities sang this song urging politicians to take more ambitious climate measures.

Addressing climate change has become a core mission for me now. Fortunately, I have some influential thought leaders to quote from. My 27th blog, THIS BOOK CHANGES EVERYTHING, led to a book review for SHELTERFORCE of Naomi Klein’s This Changes Everything. As I said then and still do, if there has ever been a book you should read, this is it.

Over the next couple of months, my work will be engaging others in dialogue as requested by Pope Francis and recorded in blog #44, SHOUTING FOR JOY. That should offer sustenance for my September and October blogs.

TJ, Mom & Dad 7-26-15You can’t go a year without having birthdays. Most recently, I used blog #49, GROWING OLDER BUT NOT UP, to wish my son, TJ, well. The tweet link “Let’s Get Some Beers” got some likes.

The blog that received the most views all year was #25, HAVE I TOLD YOU LATELY, my birthday and Valentine’s greeting to my wife, Lynne. She not only got me through this past year but also has provided love for what will be 40 years this October. And yes for those of you keeping score, Van Morrison is currently leading the U2Cando playlist with four songs to Bruce Springsteen’s three.

My birthday this year was a milestone, acknowledged in blog #18, CROSSING THE GREAT DIVIDE. I look forward to sharing my thoughts at the end of December on how my 66th year winds up.

So those are my ToP 10 blogs. I enjoyed writing all 52 of them. Whenever you read them, I hope you enjoyed them too. Remember U2Cando!

I’m completing my year of blogging for justice with my favorite hymn. It’s set to an Irish tune that you may have heard in a pub but it’s sung fairly often at our church, Old St. Pat’s.

Old St. Pat's

Old St. Pat’s

My soul cries out with a joyful shout
that the God of my heart is great,
And my spirit sings of the wondrous things
that you bring to the ones who wait.
You fixed your sight on your servant’s plight,
and my weakness you did not spurn,
So from east to west shall my name be blest.
Could the world be about to turn?

My heart shall sing of the day you bring.
Let the fires of your justice burn.
Wipe away all tears, for the dawn draws near,
and the world is about to turn!

From the halls of power to the fortress tower,
not a stone will be left on stone.
Let the king beware for your justice tears
ev’ry tyrant from his throne.
The hungry poor shall weep no more,
for the food they can never earn;
There are tables spread, ev’ry mouth be fed,
for the world is about to turn.

My heart shall sing of the day you bring.
Let the fires of your justice burn.
Wipe away all tears, for the dawn draws near,
and the world is about to turn!

Canticle of the Turning
Author: Rory Cooney
Tune: STAR OF THE COUNTY DOWN

6 thoughts on “BLOGGING FOR JUSTICE OVER A YEAR’S WORTH OF SEEKING

  1. Your blogs are always so well-done and thought-provoking. I hope you come back from vacation well-rested and ready to fire up that keyboard again. BTW, we miss you both up here in the U.P.

    Like

  2. Have a wonderful vacation Ted! Writing from smokey Montana. It’s hard to not think of Naomi’s book during this difficult fire season. I Enjoyed your year’s summary this morning, great accomplishment. Wonderful to see the mural from Cuidad Romero. Thanks to you and Lynne for the recent contribution to EcoViva , greatly appreciated during the summer campaign. Traverse City will be refreshing… Best, Mary Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. Trust you all & the cabin are well. Gave your name to former ICA director who lives in Missoula, David Scott & his wife Maureen. Let me know if they contact you. Ted

      Like

  3. Seeking and seeding justing love starts with spreading the spark that the impossible is possible in the here and now…thank you for the 52 week discipline, even though I just met you this year, I like what I am reading, thank you. Evelyn in ICA Taiwan

    Like

  4. Pingback: MAKING PEACE…RESPECTING DIVERSITY | U2Cando

Leave a Reply

