GIVING THANKS

My first journal entry was on May 4, 2000 at an altitude of 35,000 feet on my way to Belfast as the first stop on a sabbatical. I have continued my journal writing over the years, most recently this past September on my return flight from Austin, Texas. I usually write while traveling; reflecting on family life and work challenges as well as observations on that business or vacation trip.

Attempting to construct this third monthly blog, I am overwhelmed with multiple and diverging reflections this Thanksgiving Day. I know that writing has become integral for me in processing life and that I really need to do this blog. Still I wonder: how did I manage to blog weekly for a year?

My primary anguish today is the diagnosis yesterday that my sister-in-law’s struggle this year with oral cancer has now reached the hospice stage. Can I adequately comfort my brother through this traumatic time?

Seven years ago, my wife had started her chemo treatments for breast cancer and dealt with her hair falling out that Thanksgiving morning. I am thankful every morning that she is here to kiss me. How can I console my brother for the mornings he faces ahead?

There are decades of Thanksgiving dinners when we all gather and take each other for granted. We do stop now and then to remember those from past holiday dinners who are no longer at the table. Yes, we can give thanks for the time we did have together. But that doesn’t make their absence any more tolerable.

I don’t know if these lyrics will offer any solace for my brother. But we should consider them in our own lives while we have the chance.

Joe & Ginny Oct 2009

Joe & Ginny Wysocki / October 2009

If tomorrow never comes
Will she know how much I loved her
Did I try in every way to show her every day
That she’s my only one
And if my time on earth were through
And she must face the world without me
Is the love I gave her in the past
Gonna be enough to last
If tomorrow never comes
So tell that someone that you love
Just what you’re thinking of
If tomorrow never comes

Garth Brooks, K. Blazy, Kent Evan Blazy

One thought on “GIVING THANKS

  1. Well done Ted.  Today is the 23rd anniversary of my first wife’s death, and still think about her a good bit.  Bobp.s. I also keep a diary when I travel, but mostly activity focused and wh

    Like

Leave a Reply

