REUNITING & REBOUNDING

I want to know what became of the changes
We waited for love to bring
Were they only the fitful dreams
Of some greater awakening
I’ve been aware of the time going by
They say in the end it’s the wink of an eye
— “The Pretender” by Jackson Browne

Yes, I know my June blog is a few days late. But then I’ve been planning to write about my 45th Reunion of the Province College Class of ’71 since the first weekend of June. I just waited for the June 30th concert by Jackson Browne and James Taylor at Wrigley Field.James & Jackson at Wrigley I bought tickets months ago as an early 37th wedding anniversary present. You see I did “find myself a girl who can show me what laughter means” and we’ve been filling in the “missing colors in each other’s paint-by-number dreams” since we met in 1975.

Lynne joined me for this June trip back to PC. Five years ago, I went by myself to reunite with classmates and catch up on our respective lives. She had met a few of them over the years but had not really seen where our college formative years played out. We both enjoyed the long weekend in Rhode Island, the conversational flow of memories and the ‘70s soundtrack.

There were classmates missing because of distance or early death; spouses who have left widowers; and health concerns that persist. But for a few hours over three days, the years did not seem that long ago.

I had a prelude to the memories in April when I was asked to speak at my high school, Fenwick in Oak Park [IL] to seniors who had been admitted to Providence College and were now on the clock to choose. Since both Fenwick and Providence are Dominican institutions, that makes me a “Double Friar.” For someone raised by the Order of Preachers, speaking is not that challenging. Picking the right points does require some thought. Hopefully, sharing my vocational experience at PC was helpful to those Fenwick students making their first major life decision.

It seemed to surprise some, as well as a slightly younger woman PC grad on the June golf cart tour of campus, when I shared that one of my first organizing campaigns was protesting at my college graduation urging the trustees to approve making PC co-ed, which they did. I hadn’t thought about that in decades but I guess equal access was embedded at an early age.

We did our best to avoid talking current politics at the reunion given some strong opinions just under the surface. But there were multiple memories we all had of Draft Lottery night in the midst of the Vietnam War. Many of us had met and bonded as ROTC candidates.PC Class of 71(2) Then came that day junior year in September 1969, when we each on our own had to decide to sign-up or not. I chose to start questioning the war which led to questioning many subsequent governmental actions over the years ahead.

I heard a James Taylor song for the first time this week, even though he wrote it over 25 years ago. When I blogged weekly for a year, I would add to the U2Cando playlist with lyrics to end each blog. These lyrics seem to be a good fit for remembering the past as well rebounding for the future.

And if Jackson asks, I’m not ready to surrender. Love could still be a contender.

Let us turn our thoughts today to Martin Luther King
and recognize that there are ties between us, all men and women living on the Earth.
Ties of hope and love, sister and brotherhood, that we are bound together in our desire to see the world become a place in which our children can grow free and strong.
We are bound together by the task that stands before us and the road that lies ahead.
We are bound and we are bound.
“Shed A Little Light” by James Taylor

Leave a Reply

